An Interview with Jessica, The Most Amazing Makeup Artist

059_PB23757-XL

Jess was part of the amazing team of makeup artists who did the bridal party makeup for my sister’s wedding last year. Her work is breath -taking and has even been featured on this Confetti slot on Saturday AM – it is well worth checking out for wedding fashion and makeup inspiration! Jess loves chatting about all things makeup and has kindly let me interview her so that I can share her makeup tips and tricks with you all…

How old were you when you first became interested in makeup?

I have always been interested in makeup. When I was a child, my mom used to give me the end of all of her products to play with but it wasn’t until I was around 22, and was working with another girl who was into it as much as me, that the obsession began. We used to practice eyebrow filling at lunch and constantly be emailing products to each other to talk about. It got a bit annoying for the others in the office I’m sure!

What made you decide to sign up for professional makeup training?

My friends would get me to do their makeup for events or nights out and I felt that I was restricted to the one look that I knew how to do (smokey eye). I was a bit nervous of applying liner and lashes but I then realised how much I loved doing makeup on other people (I don’t actually love it as much when I have to do it on myself) so I enrolled myself into the course and learned all the necessary skills/ looks needed.

Where did you train and what did you think of it?

I trained in the Callonberry Academy with Paula Callon and Derrick Carberry. Not only is it an in depth course, it is also lead by the most talented makeup artists in Ireland. Both Paula and Derrick are just so skillful it was amazing to watch them every week. I found it so interesting and I managed to learn so much from them each week by just watching them work. It wasn’t until it was a demo week that I realised how much I had learned. I would 100% recommend this course. It can be for all levels as they cover every aspect of makeup from day-to-day, bridal, up skilling, the basic smokey eye and then some editorial too.

What is your favorite style of makeup to wear? And to do on other people?

My favourite style of makeup is a natural look on both myself and clients. The way we were thought was to enhance the natural features and I feel like this is the most flattering makeup style. I’m not really into anything too dramatic or crazy!!

Name 5 products you can’t do makeup without?

This I get asked all the time and it would have to be:

  1. Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation
  2. Laura Mercier translucent powder
  3. The Balm – Mary Loumanizer highlighter
  4. Charlotte Tilbury filmstar bronze and glow
  5. MAC Sunbasque blusher.

But, that’s not a very fair question because I can’t do makeup without a good mascara, lipstick and my favourite eyeshadows!!

Name 1 product that disappointed you?

Bobby Brown shimmer brick. I was not impressed by this at all, and it was expensive too.

 

You can find some amazing images of Jess’s work on her instagram & facebook page!

060_PB23762-L

XO

Leave a Reply

